Fujifilm FinePix X100

I’ve been deliberating for a while now how to go about photographing this trip. The idea of lugging around an enormous Nikon D3s wasn’t terribly exciting. Apart from it’s obvious quality and great low-light capabilities, the weight and size didn’t seem appropriate as a travel photography camera.

So after much research I discovered the Fujifilm FinePix X100. It is essentially a hybrid that falls somewhere between the versatility of a compact point & shoot and the quality of a DSLR with this great retro look that is reminiscent of the old Leica cameras.

Most of the reviews I read seemed to wax lyrical with the one by Michael Reichmann very helpful and compelling with it’s thoroughness. Despite some minor short-comings of the X100, the review convinced me that the technical potential was certainly there.

Then the actual examples of excellent street photography using an X100 by Patrick La Roque sold me on it’s hands-on capabilities. In fact, his work has reignited my passion for street photography. It will be nice to take a break from shooting client weddings and portraits and do something for myself and my family for a change.

Finally, after discussing the pros and cons with the brilliant photographer Daniel Linnet and having a little play with his X100 I was sold. I simply had to have one!

Now I can’t wait to take my new toy for a spin.

Kim*

5 thoughts on “Fujifilm FinePix X100

  1. Pingback: snapseed « travel blog

  2. Thank you for your informative review and links, you may have cost me $1000 on my up coming trip 🙂 Cheers

  3. Pingback: My Fuji | preparation | travel photography

  4. Pingback: Mt Fuji | preparation | travel photography

please let me know your thoughts

