crop shop

I have made it my quest to find half-decent coffee in Tokyo.

They love their kōhī here. And there appears to be a kissaten (coffee shop) on every corner. But everywhere I go they seem to make it using drip-filters rather than the espresso machines we’re accustomed to in Australia.

And their idea of a flat white or a latté is to have lots and lots of milk and bugger all coffee.

So you can imagine my excitement when I walk past this shop (below), rich with the aroma of freshly roasted coffee beans.

FYI: I think that’s a donkey dangling below the large coffee bean.

20120604-174815.jpg

I enthusiastically step inside, exchange pleasantries and ask them if they make coffee as well as selling the roasted beans. They say yes and then show me a blackboard with a couple of options.

Damn! They too use the drip-filter method.

I will continue looking yet I may need to resign myself to this different style. Stay tuned.

Kim*

5 thoughts on “crop shop

  1. Kim, this is very American. They use drip filter everywhere. I will see if I can find a good coffee place on the net in Tokyo.

  2. Thanks. You’re just the person I was hoping would point me in the right direction. I did notice an “illy” shop earlier today so will investigate further. Kim*

  3. It looks like a chocolaterie rather than a coffee shop ! I like the design around it, was it as good on the inside?

  4. The inside was small as space is at a premium in Tokyo. They mainly sold beans and the coffee making bits & pieces like plungers and drip filter machines.

    But boy did those roasted coffee beans smell good! Kim*

  5. Pingback: Ristorante la Brianza « travel blog

please let me know your thoughts

